Reviews

My stay @ the Swan - Rating 5/5

Had a very pleasant 4 day stay here. Clean well equipped room, spotless bedding &clean towels dailyHad tea making facilities &bottled water. Very quite &away from pub noises. Very good choice of breakfast menu &delightful, friendly waitress, Gemmas

Reviewer:Patricia Carruthers | Mon 21st Aug 2017


Thank you - Rating 4/5

A very welcoming hotel.People were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Mary Rickard | Tue 8th Aug 2017


Disappointing - Rating 1/5

The beautiful town of Bradford on Avon can not justify the over pricing of our room for 2 nights. Poor or no wifi, stained floor, side tables balanced upon planks of wood, uneven floor, an uncomfortable mattress laying upon a single slab of wood, a step leading into the bathroom, no salmon/ black pudding ordered for breakfast that is included, no milk replenished in the room for second morning, no character or charm. Room 1 must be the furthest away, up 3 different stair cases and we had to switch the hallway lights on ourselves to find our way. The staff we spoke to were young and very apologetic, but when they explained the manager was on holiday you can\'t expect them to do much more than apologize. £270 for 2 night in a superior double room... I expect so much more and would not stay again. The positives are only the area and nice evening meal we had.

Response

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and take feedback seriously;we are constantly looking at upgrading and replacing items in our room and the mattress will definitely be replaced shortly - many apologies that there was no salmon or black pudding for breakfast and this is definitely not acceptable neither is the standard of housekeeping. Once again I apologise for the experience you had during your stay and would welcome the opportunity to show you on a future occasion that this is not reflective of our standards. Thank you again for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us - our offerings of authentic Thai food alongside a Pub Classics menu are definitely going down well!

Reviewer:kelly o\'neill | Thu 27th Jul 2017


Excellent location ++ - Rating 4/5

Polite staff. Excellent breakfast and housekeeping.Clean room and good ensuite.

Reviewer:Chris Sudale | Fri 21st Jul 2017


Very good - Rating 4/5

Excellent location. Very friendly staff, good food and comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again. In

Reviewer:Gareth Davies | Tue 20th Jun 2017


Thank you- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and pleasant staff, a pleasure to stay while working from home.

Reviewer:Ann Anderson | Fri 9th Jun 2017


Night at the swan - Rating 3/5

Friendly helpful staffBed.Clean sheet and comfortableJust needs new carpets and a good clean around the skirtings or get rid of carpets and invest in no carpet floor. Shame as gave a feel of being dirty.

Reviewer:Paula Tully | Sun 21st May 2017


excellent position - Rating 5/5

the hotel was a lovely homely place,staff were very pleasant, breakfast was very good, would stay here again

Reviewer:paul odonnell | Sun 2nd Apr 2017


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel itself was very interesting, lovely comfy bed with good quality bedding. Huge bathroom.The staff were all very nice, couldnt do enough for us, very welcoming.Good breakfast and very good Thai evening meal.

Reviewer:Marilyn Bridge | Fri 17th Mar 2017


Comfortable & interesting hotel - Rating 4/5

Our first time in this area and this ancient hotel, equipped with 21st century additions such as electricity, running water etc was a really good place to stay.We were well looked after throughout and the bed was the most comfortable we had slept in for a long time.Breakfast was simple but adequate.Morning staff were taciturn but that added to the experience.

Reviewer:Sally Siddall | Wed 18th Jan 2017


Great place - Rating 5/5

Staff were so helpful and friendly, making us feel like locals. The room was very comfortable and pleasant and the meal at the restaurant was one of the best Thai dishes I\'ve had. Finally, the offstreet parking was easily accessible and CCTV made me confident to leave my Bentley Arnage there overnight with worries of damage or theft occurring. Highly recommend The Swan!

Reviewer:Chris Rigg | Mon 16th Jan 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

It was a pleasant stay. Helpful staff, comfortable room and good breakfast. Hotel is in a nice setting and we wish we could have stayed a little longer. Plumbing needs attention in the room though and a little expensive for one night. But overall good choice.

Reviewer:Mr. William Minnitt | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


Christmas shop - Rating 3/5

Perfect 1night stay, train station 5 mins walk direct train into bath,,lovely village shops and restaurants

Reviewer:Debra Marsh | Mon 19th Dec 2016


Great location- Rating 3/5

We enjoyed our stay, and an evening meal on a cold night by an open fire was a great bonus. But there are good and bad things with this hotel. The staff were friendly and the Thai food (not included in the room rate) was very nice. The bed was comfy and the towels good quality. Location was perfect and there was live music too! But:the rate was expensive (120 gdp for a double room), the hot breakfast portions were small, the communal decor was tired looking, and the hotel should not be rated four stars (the interior design does not look as good as the photos). I also had to pay up front, which I hate doing!

Reviewer:Andrew Powell | Sun 18th Dec 2016


Great hospitality- Rating 5/5

The hotel had a pleasant warm and welcoming feel to it the staff were helpful and polite upon arrival, the room was good value for the nights stop over we had a meal in the bar which was excellent a special thanks again to the staffwho\'s attention and hospitality were first class

Reviewer:Alan Lambden | Sun 11th Dec 2016


Lovely place to catch up with friends and family - Rating 5/5

We had a really pleasant stay here. Nice room, nice meal,and handy for the station.The staff were very helpful, despite it being a very busy evening for them. The Swan is in the heart of the town, a perfect setting.We had intended staying in Bath, but we were all so glad we stayed at the Swan instead.

Reviewer:Nicky Palmer | Sun 27th Nov 2016


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay - clean, well-equipped rooms, nice breakfast, good pub and helpful, friendly staff.

Reviewer:Ms. Susan Foster | Wed 23rd Nov 2016


Stay at Swan Hotel October 2016 - Rating 4/5

Been many times.Very comfortable and friendly.Will return next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Rushworth | Wed 26th Oct 2016


Great hotel - Rating 4/5

A great little hotel with nice clean rooms, great staff and a cellar bar with live music. Absolutely perfect.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben Limbrick | Sun 23rd Oct 2016


Great base for Kennet & Avon Canal - Rating 5/5

I chose The Swan for a 3-night stay as a base for 2 days\' cycling along the Kennet &Avon Canal. Poor start - no parking place available &the lad who checked me in seemed in a hurry! However I was very pleased with my room (room 6) which was very comfortable - lovely double bed, great tv, very nice shower, plenty of wardrobe space, well lit, and lots of little extras - 2 bottles of water, delicious biscuits, extra toiletries etc. - that make all the difference. I found all the staff very pleasant, friendly and obliging, especially Olivia. I was phoned at 10.30pm to let me know a parking place had been vacated by staff;one male employee escorted me to the back entrance to show me exactly where the newsagents\' was - little defining moments, very important! The £100pn price was about right - not a rip-off and not a fantastic bargain! I would definitely stay here again. The canal towpath between Bath and Devizes (not beyond Devizes) is one of the finest cycle trails in GB and perhaps more of this could be made in your publicity. One slight criticism - the dinner menu was very strongly biased towards Thai cuisine. This will be a \'plus\' for many people but my diet is very traditional. The soup on offer was mushroom three nights running (the chef kindly prepared potato/tomato soup for me on Wed!!)and there was no brownie on the last night. A completed evaluation form hadn\'t been collected from my room over the previous days and a \'fire exit\' sign was missing on the ceiling above an emergency exit, but these are only minor points. Many thanks to you &your colleagues for a very enjoyable stay in Bradford-on-Avon. John

Reviewer:Mr. John Green | Fri 26th Aug 2016


One night wonder! - Rating 4/5

Lovely Hotel, cannot fault it, stayed prior a 24 hour 3 Peak Challenge, whilst on top of one Peak, received text to say they had no hot water, so could cancel the planned stay on returning from the Peaks - which I did. Not easy finding an alternative on a Bank Holiday w/end.I was so looking forward to a lovely bath and a relaxing night.Shame.

Reviewer:Mr. Iain Fisher | Tue 21st Jun 2016


adequate for my journey - Rating 4/5

Location near to rail station.Clean and cozy room.Good and warm service :)

Reviewer:Mr. Meik Fernberg | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Lovely short break! - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for good value, great location and friendly staff, this is the place to go! Lovely open fire in the bar area and very comfotable and spacious rooms.Just wish our stay had been longer so we could have tried the extensive Thai menu served!

Reviewer:Mrs. Esther Davies | Mon 7th Mar 2016


right in the centre of Bradford - Rating 3/5

I had wanted to stay at the Swan for many years as it is such an historic building and right in the centre of town. I booked online and got a cheap rate because it was a late booking. I was very pleased that we did, because although I was happy to pay £85, I would have been very disappointed if we had paid £135. Although there are some lovely bits, the decor of the whole hotel is tired and unappealing. Our room was fine, the bed very comfortable, and the facilities what we expected. However, it was very difficult to have a satisfying shower as there was very little pressure on the hot water. I also cleaned the mould off the shower head before I used it. There was a good choice for breakfast and we had no complaints with that. The manager was very professional and courteous.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry we did not quite meet up to your expectations on some aspects of your stay, we have recently repainted all the rooms and our maintenance schedule is an ongoing programme with a building that is over 300 years old, having said that we certainly appreciate your comments on the room and will look into this in detail. Generally speaking we do not have problems with water pressure, particularly in the room you were in and I am very sorry about this, we would like to assure any readers of this review that it is not an issue we have had before or indeed since. Thank you once again for your review an we hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy the beautiful town of Bradford on Avon and all it has to offer

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Mashford | Tue 1st Mar 2016


7/11/2015 - Rating 3/5

Second stay with you, very friendly staff. Disappointed that original booking for 2 Deluxe rooms was not met, error at hotel so took edge off our visit this occasion.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, yes we sincerely apologise about the mix up of not being able to give you one of the rooms you had booked, but glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Williams | Mon 9th Nov 2015


1st Anniversary Weekend - Rating 4/5

We decided to come back to the town where we first met. The Swan is in an ideal location in the centre of town.Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire Maule | Thu 20th Aug 2015


40th Birthday Celebrations - Rating 4/5

A friendly, hospitable hotel in a lovely setting. The ideal place for a weekend get-away with friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne Watkins | Fri 3rd Jul 2015


Surprise family get together - Rating 5/5

I had never been to this hotel before but booked it as a surprise for my husbands birthday, with 4 other couples.All aspects of booking were easy online, and all questions answered excellently my the staff before I booked. On arrival, the hotel had everything ready for us, and were brilliant! Service and attention to details and keeping things secret, they were great! The rooms were large and airy and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.I cannot thank the hotel staff enough and would recommend this hotel for a weekend or night away in a lovely part of the English countryside.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne Watkins | Thu 2nd Jul 2015


very relaxed - Rating 5/5

found the hotel to have lovely character.The room was very clean &comfortable.All the staff were very friendly &helpful.We enjoyed our stay &would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. david starkie | Sat 27th Jun 2015


The Swan Hotel - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel in a beautiful location.Clean and comfortable the hotel retains historic charms.The staff are polite and welcoming - I would thoroughly recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Robertson | Wed 6th May 2015


Great Location! - Rating 4/5

Interesting mix of high quality rooms and \'public bar\' type eating! Food was good at dinner and breakfast but environment a bit \'functional\'. Definitely the best place to stay to take in the sights of the town. They even turn the church clock of at night..relief!!

Reviewer:Mr. John Wright | Thu 9th Apr 2015


Swan around - Rating 5/5

Lovely family run inn.Guest rooms are large and very well presented....and the bed was huge!Good food, drinks, atmosphere and always something interesting on in the evening.Within a few minutes walk to the train station, which is only 15 mins from Bath.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Newton | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Week end stay - Rating 4/5

Warm and friendly welcome. Nice room clean and tidy. Good staff when we had dinner, food good. Breakfast good as well as staff. Would be happy to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. MARTIN STEARN | Sun 22nd Mar 2015


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome, helpful staff and a lovely old hotel. Great for short break but room was a bit tired looking, no soap for hand basin and no toilet roll. Just little things that need checking but overall a great spot to explore Bath from, relaxing.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Williams | Sun 1st Mar 2015


Quaint Old Hotel with Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

We stayed overnight at the Swan whilst visiting friends.The staff were very welcoming and the room comfortable with a very large four poster bed. Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked with tasty items of our choice.We enjoyed our stay although it was brief.

Response

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill Coulthard | Sat 3rd Jan 2015


Most Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

We were visiting Bradford on Avon to attend a concert at the Music Centre. Found the Swan by Google and booked for 2 nights Dinner B&B. Our most lasting impression will be of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The room was comfortable and of a good size.Food quality was good both at dinner and breakfast. There is a very extensive menu for the former.Would certainly recommend and stay again.

Response

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. David Forder | Tue 16th Dec 2014


Swan Hotel - Rating 4/5

Good location in the centre of Bradford. Room reasonable although lack of hot water was disappointing although compensation provided.

Response

Thank you for your feedback, once again we apologise for the problems with the hot water which has now been corrected and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future

Reviewer:Mr. Phil Gibson | Fri 5th Dec 2014


Family trip - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I loved our stay at the Swan!It was like being in someones home.Clean, warm and friendly.The food was good and the service was great.Hopefully we will be back!

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne Gosselin | Sat 22nd Nov 2014


super pub with rooms - Rating 4/5

very welcoming staff, good size rooms, nice food and super breakfast. Also serves excellent beer in formt of log fire. Perfect for a country weekend and 5 minutes form train to bath.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia Robinson | Mon 17th Nov 2014


Stay - Rating 3/5

Rooms very comfortable and clean. Food nice but some confusion with the type of crumble!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah Read | Fri 4th Jul 2014


pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

we were upgraded to a lovely room with a four poster bed and enjoyed our stay, friendly staff and good location.

Reviewer:Helen Singer | Sun 25th May 2014


good place! - Rating 4/5

Convoluted building - many stairs. Initial impression - corridors and general areas are dirty. BUT rooms are not,good cleanliness and very comfy beds. Meals are cleanly presented by very friendly staff. Warmed to the place after one day and thoroughly enjoyed being invited to sit in when Folk Club had their musical evening. Overall - a good place.

Reviewer:Elaine Ballard | Wed 14th May 2014


Anniversary Celebration - Rating 5/5

Very impressed with our two nights stay, friendly welcome, excellent room, lovely bedding and very clean. (nice to have make tea in a teapot not in cups)Breakfast and evening meals most enjoyable and attentive staff. Would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary Farmer | Wed 23rd Apr 2014


Another lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed several times at The Swan over the last year whilst visiting our son in Bath. It is a lovely hotel, old and quirky and so much better than the boring corporate hotels one becomes accustomed to. The staff are excellent and I would particularly like to mention the waitress at breakfast yesterday morning who was outstanding and very attentive. Breakfast is served to order and extremely good too.Thank you and we shall be returning again soon. Sharon

Reviewer:Mrs. SharonCox | Tue 22nd Apr 2014


Anniversary Jaunt - Rating 4/5

From checking in to checking out, on our one night stay, all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel ideally located in the town. Food was excellent. Good atmosphere in the bar areas. Great room!

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian Tate | Tue 22nd Apr 2014


Mr - Rating 4/5

Everything was fine - we've been before and will certainly visit again

Reviewer:Keith Rushworth | Wed 9th Apr 2014


swan hotel - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic stay. Room was excellent for the price asked. Very friendly atmosphere, food was fantastic an will 100% be coming again!

Reviewer:Rose Clift | Sun 6th Apr 2014


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Conference
  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Parking facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • City centre
  • Bridal suite
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding functions
  • Romantic breaks
  • Walking holidays

Contact Details

Swan Hotel
1 Church Street
Bradford-on-Avon
Wiltshire
BA15 1LN
Tel:01225 868686
stay@theswanbradford.co.uk