splendid - Rating 5/5

We would like to thank all of the staff at The Swan Hotel, Bradford on Avon, for their friendly, helpful service. The room was comfortable, clean and close to all of the sights. The bar with its warm and welcoming fire was delightful on the second rainy day of our visit and we would not hesitate to return when we next come to Wiltshire or to recommend the hotel to any other travelers. Thank you to everyone.Vivien and Charles Rowe

Reviewer:Vivien R | Thu 12th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago

Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Swan Hotel. The hotel itself was clean and tidy. The room was a small but quaint room that overlooked the front of the hotel. They had a large variety of breakfast however, I am vegan and not they had very little available to myself. The surrounding village is delightful yet quiet making it suitable for a mature couple but not so for a young couple looking for night life. I would highly recommend The Swan Hotel the staff were on hand should you require them and all polite and courteous.Be aware that there are lots of steps to each room and therefore not really suited for disabled access. Would definitely stay again without hesitation.

Reviewer:donna h | Mon 9th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago

Relaxing- Rating 5/5

Great food, great location.. Relaxing and lovely friendly staff

Reviewer:andrew g | Sat 7th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago

Lovely - Rating 5/5

Arrived in afternoon.Lovely old room.cleanWater tea coffee biscuits very welcoming.Thai restaurant in hotel dine there that evening very nice set menu very reasonableprice.And full breakfast was brillant as were the staff.And no hassle with parking could even stay longer than our stay.Thank you.

Reviewer:John B | Tue 3rd Mar 2020 | 4 months ago

Lovely - Rating 1/5

We arrived on the spare of the moment and we were made to to feel very welcome staff very friendly very approachable, as for our bedroom it was fantastic the bed was very comfortable the room was clean and tidy, we slept well and we woke up we had a shower which was lovely and then NZ went down for breakfast which was very very nice , we would definitely stay again , and would like to thank all the staff for a lovely approach to us , many thanks Tracy and Wayne from Cornwall.

Reviewer:Mr E | Mon 2nd Mar 2020 | 4 months ago

Cosy - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome and a pleasant stay

Reviewer:Gill T | Sun 1st Mar 2020 | 4 months ago

My Happy Place - Rating 5/5

I am a regular guest at the Swan and when working away. I need somehow the is comfortable,with good food a great atmosphere and fabulous people. The Swan ticks all the boxes for me.James the owner and his team are very attentive hosts. The whole building is a quirky mix of passageways, nooks and crannies and loads of character. I stay there every opportunity I get.

Reviewer:DAVID B | Fri 31st Jan 2020 | 5 months ago

Just What I need - Rating 5/5

Friendly, welcoming and caring staff and a fabulous choice of food and drinkThe rooms are spacious and comfortable and always well presented.I stay at the Swan every week and there are many other places in the vicinity to choose from but I always come here.James and his team at the Swan have my gratitude for my home away from home.

Reviewer:DAVID B | Fri 17th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago

A great location. - Rating 5/5

We were very pleased with our stay. Everybody was so friendly and helpful. We stayed for an evening meal which was very nice and the service excellent. Breakfast was also very good, so everything was very enjoyable.

Reviewer:mrs e | Wed 15th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago

Excellent Location and Friendly Staff - Rating 5/5

We had a Deluxe double room with the fabulous roll top bath. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the home made porridge was gorgeous. Right in the center of town on the river.

Reviewer:c | Mon 13th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago

Small double room - Rating 5/5

I stayed at The Swan for one night in a small double room. As a solo traveller the space was more than adequate. It was clean and comfortable with room for a chair and a large flat screen tv.Tea, coffee and water were also supplied in plentiful quantities. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and really helpful. Parking on site made the whole experience easy. Really loved the huge fire in the bar.

Reviewer:Jill W | Sun 5th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago

Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely unspoiled hotel in the centre of Bradford on Avon. The decor is modern and yet the old features remain. The staff were very helpful and we will definitely come back.

Reviewer:Mark W | Thu 2nd Jan 2020 | 6 months ago

Perfect for our stay - Rating 5/5

We were eating locally and it was a great location.Room was spacious and very comfortable.Good customer service and a nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Ed B | Sun 8th Dec 2019 | 6 months ago

Excellent hospitality- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night whilst we attended a near by wedding reception. We were warmly welcomed upon arrival. We had food before we went out and a breakfast the following morning, which were all delicious and served promptly. Staff couldn’t be more helpful and accommodating. The room itself was clean, tidy and comfortable in every way. Would definitely go back in the future and would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewer:Sarah A | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 7 months ago

Nice- Rating 5/5

Nice and worm atmosphere,nice staff,the best coffee,the fire place was amazing

Reviewer:Vasile M | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 8 months ago

My daughter s wedding- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderfuleveningto celebratemy daughter s weddingthe staff were so helpful. The only criticismis that only one bar staff down in the cellar to serve drinks.

Reviewer:Claire C | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 8 months ago

HOME FROM HOME - Rating 5/5

I am now a regular business traveller guest at the Swan Hotel.Lovely staff, clean and comfortable rooms and fabulous Thai food for whenever the mood takes me.What's not to love?

Reviewer:David B | Fri 1st Nov 2019 | 8 months ago

Excellent - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and friendly as always

Reviewer:Keith R | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago

Thank You - Rating 4/5

A great location in a beautiful place.Very nice room...and helpful people... delicious breakfast!Thank you

Reviewer:Audrey A | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago

Spot On! - Rating 5/5

Great location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, a well stocked bar and fabulous Thai food - everything a traveller needs!

Reviewer:David B | Fri 18th Oct 2019 | 8 months ago

Stay at the swan - Rating 5/5

The staff are absolutely first class.Room was lovely would defiantly recommendThankyou James and all your staff

Reviewer:Rod and Claire T | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago

Very nice hotel- Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our one night stay room and food was very good staff very friendly

Reviewer:Kathryn B | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago

ExcellentHotel - Rating 5/5

Just stayed at the 'Swan Hotel' for 3 nights. The hotel accommodationwas excellent, the room was large with lovely furnishings, a reallylarge very comfortablebed and a great bathroom,everythingwas spotlesslyclean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.The breakfast was brilliant, loads of chouce. Will certainly stay thereagain when we visit our relativesin Bradford-on-Avon next time.

Reviewer:mrs h | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago

Good all round! - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay. Comfortable room and very good food. The staff were friendly and most helpful as we had to change our booking. Would definitely return.

Reviewer:Linda A | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago

Excellent location - Rating 5/5

Nice break. Excellent Breakfast. Staff friendly. Beautiful Location.

Reviewer:Diane B | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 1 year ago

Our stay at The Swan hotel- Rating 5/5

We came up to stay overnight for a wedding.We needed to be to change and drop off our luggage and they were very accommodating and I would like to thank you.Our room was lovely and customer service by the young man at breakfast and the chambermaid the day of our arrival was superb. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:mr and mrs b | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 1 year ago

Great place.- Rating 5/5

Great place. Lovely Thai Food and very friendly owner. Highly recommended. The only problem was the beer was too nice !

Reviewer:michael c | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago

Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 1 night.Its a very central hotel and within walking distance to most attractions. We parked out car in the hotel car park it was very secure. Couldn't fault the hotel, we ate there in the evening and had a great choice of Thai food or English. It was amazing. Breakfast was also excellent, served by friendly happy staff. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks you for a lovely stay x

Reviewer:lorraine w | Tue 21st May 2019 | 1 year ago

A real gem. - Rating 5/5

If you like big, anonymous hotel chains, read no further.The Swan is an ancient building with bedrooms of varying size and shape, with old wooden floors that slope a little, which befits this delightful old building. Our bed was very comfortable indeed.The food, too, is very good, especially the Thai menu (the chef is Thai) where everything is cooked to order.We liked it so much that we stayed with that menu.We keep coming back and it never disappoints.I really look forward to our next visit.A little gem.

Reviewer:Anna A | Tue 14th May 2019 | 1 year ago

Relaxed - Rating 4/5

Relaxed atmosphere &great situation

Reviewer:Sian E | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 year ago

Swan Hotel stay - Rating 5/5

Amazing place to stay.Very good people and warm welcome when we arrived.Thai food was amazing...I would definitely recommend this place.

Reviewer:Vijay V | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 1 year ago

Stay at- Rating 5/5

Enjoyable and comfortable as usual. No complaints.We look forward to returning.

Reviewer:Keith R | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago

Stay from 13th to 16th April - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable and comfortable as usual.Look forward to returning.

Reviewer:Keith R | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago

Bradford on Avon - Rating 4/5

Lovely spot in the centre of this beautiful town with car park!!Hotel good value.Furniture in dining room could do with an updateRecommended for short stays

Reviewer:Robert Y | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago

Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely old building about as well-placed as it could be, right at the end of the bridge in the centre of B-on-A. Our bedroom wasclean and warm, beds comfortable. Oddly half the lights had no bulbs in, though that wasn't a real issue. Tea &coffee in room, and breakfast was good, not at all greasy, service charming.The TV in the room had a limited number of channels, no HD at all and no streaming. Lots of local info available, and everything in town is an easy walk. I was a little surprised to be asked to pay infull on arrival rather than on checkout, not been asked that before.

Reviewer:Adrian L | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago

So helpful - Rating 5/5

I booked my mum in so she could meet up with old friends, she found that they were all without exception so helpful, nothing was too much trouble andwould recommend it to anyone wanting a friendly quaint traditional style hotel with lots of character

Reviewer:Fiona B | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 1 year ago

One night only! - Rating 4/5

We had a very comfortable night and pleasant helpful staff at breakfast. Thank you.

Reviewer:Tim B | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago

Spacious clean accommodation - Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful spacious room and equally spacious bathroom with shower and bath. Following the instructions the shower worked well with plenty of hot water.Unfortunately to have enough hot water to use the very pretty bath meant boiling kettles of water - such a disappointment.But over all, very good value for money in a prime town centre position.

Reviewer:Anna L | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago

Over nighter - Rating 4/5

Great staff and food, the room was comfortable and we slept well.

Reviewer:OJ Fabrications L | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago

Enjoyed- Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the swan hotel. Very welcoming and made our stay really comfortable. We can’t wait to book here again

Reviewer:Nin C | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


I attended my Company Christmas Function and stayed overnight.I found the staff to be really helpful.The food and drink was excellent.The facilities were very traditional.Overall an excellent say rounded off by a fine breakfast which was needed after the night before.

Reviewer:Mr. O | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago

Lovely Stay at Genuine Hotel - Rating 5/5

An old hotel with good old fashioned charm andquaintness. James at reception explained everything we needed to know and made us feel welcome. Our bed was spacious and the room was quiet. Beautifully cooked eggs for breakfast. Fantastic location and we will definitely come back to this hotel when we are in the area.

Reviewer:MATTHEW P | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago

The Swan Hotel - Rating 4/5

Thank you, James.We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Swan.Our room could not be faulted, the biggest bathroom ever.The staff were friendly and very obliging, nothing too much trouble.The town itself is a pleasure.Beauty at every turn.Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Ann and Mike J | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago

Friendly, central hotel - Rating 4/5

Friendly and helpful welcome. Able to check into our room early and leave car in car park which was a bonus. Room clean, well equipped and mainly comfortable, but bed in Room 1 very creaky, which gave us a disturbed sleep. (It was the bed, not the floorboards! This needs sorting.) Also breakfast service very slow in the morning, though when it came it was fine - it was Sunday, and luckily we were not in a rush.

Reviewer:Susan E | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago

Nostalia - Rating 4/5

An interesting hotel in need of some refurbishment but the staff are helpful and there is a friendly atmosphere ,I thought the stairs would be a problem but I soon got used to them and will be back next year.

Reviewer:Linda W | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago

The most beautiful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Loved it here. The staff went above and beyond with their helpfulness and friendliness. We will be back. Our room was amazing

Reviewer:Lisa S | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago

Loved this place - Rating 5/5

The most amazing place we stayed at. The room was beautiful and the staff were very friendly.We will be back

Reviewer:Lisa S | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago

Two night stay - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome from staff. Comfortable quiet room with plenty of coffee tea hot chocolate water etc.Manager very helpful and allowed me to leave my car for several days in the car park free of charge, while we walked a section of the Kennet and Avon canal.

Reviewer:barbra s | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago

Would stay again ..... - Rating 4/5

...... the warm welcome, the excellent breakfast, the great dinner and really good customer experience would make us stay again.Room clean and small - but adequate for the two night stay. Decor around hotel looking tired and lights on upper landing not working.Great location as well.

Reviewer:Julie M | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago

Perfect location - Rating 4/5

Lovely town centre hotel. Comfy bed, spacious bathroom with a great shower, fantastic breakfast and free parking.

Reviewer:Judy W | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago

Perfect location - Rating 4/5

Lovely town centre hotel. Comfy bed, spacious bathroom with a great shower, fantastic breakfast and free parking.

Reviewer:Judy W | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago

Romantic weekend away - Rating 5/5

Arrived Friday night and had a lovely Thai meal in the restaurant.Room was very goodwith 4 poster bed and very comfy. Excellent location. We spent Saturday exploring the town and all roads seemed to lead back to The Swan.Left Sunday but were able to extend our stay for a few hours more, as we were attending a function in town

Reviewer:John M | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago

March 2018 - Rating 5/5

Great location. Very friendly staff, excellent room and food. Good parking, would stay again and certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Nigel M | Wed 21st Mar 2018 | 2 years ago

Swan hotel stay - Rating 4/5

Nice place to stay, very central and easy access to town and surrounding area. car parking available.Staff very friendly and helpful . Breakfast plentiful.Thai food highly recommended - all cooked fresh to order. room comfortable and facilities all in place - shower very good. Bed a bit too soft and rather lumpy for me - but may suit if you like a soft bed.

Reviewer:Gail B | Wed 14th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago

Overnight at The Swan - Rating 4/5

Reception was a little haphazard but pleasant. Red wine of especially poor quality. Room quite good, although I thought pillows hard, my wife thought mattress was hard.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs C T | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago

Amazing location- Rating 5/5

Historic building with comfortable contemporary rooms in a great location;next to the bridge over the Avon in the centre of Bradford.Good breakfast with great coffee, served by friendly staff.

Reviewer:Kevin P | Fri 23rd Feb 2018 | 2 years ago

Night away for a funeral - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay,good location,happy and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Leslie A | Thu 15th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago

One night stay at Swan Hotel - Rating 4/5

Our stay was very comfortable. Very clean and quaint. Had a carvery, evening meal and breakfast which were of a high standard. Helpful friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay very much.Would recommend this hotel as a good base to visit.

Reviewer:NIGEL D | Tue 30th Jan 2018 | 2 years ago

Mrs - Rating 5/5

Apart from one minor hitch, and for which I was offered a room exchange, which I declined, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Swan.ALL members of staff were at all times courteous and helpful, not once did I have to wait to have an enquiry dealt with.The icing on the cake was being able to come down to the restaurant to enjoy the wonderful food without having to even leave the building.I look forward to my next stay here!

Reviewer:Jeanette W | Wed 24th Jan 2018 | 2 years ago

The Swan- Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed my short stay at The Swan lovely comfortable Bedroom,Food excellent,breakfast very nice and did nt have to wait long and very friendly staff

Reviewer:Phillip H | Thu 18th Jan 2018 | 2 years ago

In our opinion - Rating 2/5

Part of how the hotel sells itself is by offering luxurious rooms.Whilst we have no complaint of the room,the bathroom was anything but.It was outdated and the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. It was crying out,to at least be painted to give it a clean appearance.If would not take a great deal to put things right,but as they are, the rate charged for the room was excessive.Clients should get what the hotel advertise.This was the only real criticism as the location was very good and the staff very friendly.


Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely apologise for the experience you had particularly with the bathroom, certainly the cleanliness we aim to keep at a high standard and we clearly missed on this occasion, we have a regular maintenance schedule but certainly the room you stayed had deteriorated faster than expected - we have since taken care of this and we are only sorry that it was not completed before your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would like to assure you that this is not representative of all our bathrooms and hope we can welcome you back again on a future occasion.

Reviewer:Graham G | Sun 10th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago

B-O-A break - Rating 3/5

made the small double work for us, but would go for larger if staying again.Interesting thai food nice sauces although may have been missing the tofu on the second night.

Reviewer:Frederick G | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago

Super break. - Rating 4/5

Super last minute 2 night break. Arrived in the middle of bar &lounge refurbishment however no real problem. Room, top marks &bed comfy. Great breakfast &attention to comfort at all time.

Reviewer:Roy B | Sun 12th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago

Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Although the room was quite small it was clean and comfy. Great friendly and welcoming and the food was amazing

Reviewer:Lynn S | Wed 8th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago

Ok place to stay - Rating 4/5

Great size room (number 7), noisy road. Lovely four poster bed, one of the most comfy ever!Decor tasteful. Lighting very poor. No privacy at window, so curtains drawn and lights on, but still dark. Carpet quite dirty. No iron in the room.Lovely complementary tea/coffee in room AND bottled water. Nice ensuite but climb in bath to shower and no shower attachment. Lovely towels. Towel rail permanently hot. Staff were very good and helpful. Great breakfast but not much fruit.

Reviewer:Alyson B | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago

Lucky Find - Rating 4/5

Stuck in Wiltshire due to Train disruption I booked this hotelnot knowing what I might find. The Restaurant bar was great and a classic bar menu available but what really made it for me was the authentic on site Thai chefs. Good value room price although breakfast was not included £10 extra and was a bit stingy for that price 1 bacon 1 egg 1 sausage i piece of black pudding tom mushrooms and beans. Although cereals toast and juice was also available.

Reviewer:Vic P | Wed 4th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago

My stay @ the Swan - Rating 5/5

Had a very pleasant 4 day stay here. Clean well equipped room, spotless bedding &clean towels dailyHad tea making facilities &bottled water. Very quite &away from pub noises. Very good choice of breakfastmenu &delightful, friendly waitress, Gemmas

Reviewer:Patricia C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago

Thank you - Rating 4/5

A very welcoming hotel.People were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Mary R | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago

Disappointing - Rating 1/5

The beautiful town of Bradford on Avon can not justify the over pricing of our room for 2 nights. Poor or no wifi, stained floor, side tables balanced upon planks of wood, uneven floor, an uncomfortable mattress laying upon a single slab of wood, a step leading into the bathroom, no salmon/ black pudding ordered for breakfast that is included, no milk replenished in the room for second morning, no character or charm. Room 1 must be the furthest away, up 3 different stair cases and we had to switch the hallway lights on ourselves to find our way. The staff we spoke to were young and very apologetic, but when they explained the manager was on holiday you can't expect them to do much more than apologize. £270 for 2 night in a superior double room... I expect so much more and would not stay again.The positives are only the area and nice evening meal we had.


We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and take feedback seriously;we are constantly looking at upgrading and replacing items in our room and the mattress will definitely be replaced shortly - many apologies that there was no salmon or black pudding for breakfast and this is definitely not acceptable neither is the standard of housekeeping. Once again I apologise for the experience you had during your stay and would welcome the opportunity to show you on a future occasion that this is not reflective of our standards. Thank you again for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us - our offerings of authentic Thai food alongside a Pub Classics menu are definitely going down well!

Reviewer:kelly o | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago

Excellent location ++ - Rating 4/5

Polite staff. Excellent breakfast and housekeeping.Clean room and good ensuite.

Reviewer:Chris S | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago

Very good - Rating 4/5

Excellent location. Very friendly staff, good food and comfortable bed. Would definitely stay again. In

Reviewer:Gareth D | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 3 years ago

Thank you- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and pleasant staff, a pleasure to stay while working from home.

Reviewer:Ann A | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 3 years ago

Night at the swan - Rating 3/5

Friendly helpful staffBed.Clean sheet and comfortableJust needs new carpets and a good clean around the skirtings or get rid of carpets and invest in no carpet floor. Shame as gave a feel of being dirty.

Reviewer:Paula T | Sun 21st May 2017 | 3 years ago

excellent position - Rating 5/5

the hotel was a lovely homely place,staff were very pleasant, breakfast was very good, would stay here again

Reviewer:paul o | Sun 2nd Apr 2017 | 3 years ago

Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel itself was very interesting, lovely comfy bed with good quality bedding. Huge bathroom.The staff were all very nice, couldnt do enough for us, very welcoming.Good breakfast and very good Thai evening meal.

Reviewer:Marilyn B | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago

Comfortable & interesting hotel - Rating 4/5

Our first time in this area and this ancient hotel, equipped with 21st century additions such as electricity, running water etc was a really good place to stay.We were well looked after throughout and the bed was the most comfortable we had slept in for a long time.Breakfast was simple but adequate.Morning staff were taciturn but that added to the experience.

Reviewer:Sally S | Wed 18th Jan 2017 | 3 years ago

Great place - Rating 5/5

Staff were so helpful and friendly, making us feel like locals. The room was very comfortable and pleasant and the meal at the restaurant was one of the best Thai dishes I've had. Finally, the offstreet parking was easily accessible and CCTV made me confident to leave my Bentley Arnage there overnight with worries of damage or theft occurring. Highly recommend The Swan!

Reviewer:Chris R | Mon 16th Jan 2017 | 3 years ago

Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

It was a pleasant stay. Helpful staff, comfortable room and good breakfast. Hotel is in a nice setting and we wish we could have stayed a little longer. Plumbing needs attention in the room though and a little expensive for one night. But overall good choice.

Reviewer:Mr. William M | Mon 2nd Jan 2017 | 3 years ago

Christmas shop - Rating 3/5

Perfect 1night stay, train station 5 mins walk direct train into bath,,lovely village shops and restaurants

Reviewer:Debra M | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago

Great location- Rating 3/5

We enjoyed our stay, and an evening meal on a cold night by an open fire was a great bonus. But there are good and bad things with this hotel. The staff were friendly and the Thai food (not included in the room rate) was very nice. The bed was comfy and the towels good quality. Location was perfect and there was live music too! But:the rate was expensive (120 gdp for a double room), the hot breakfast portions were small, the communal decor was tired looking, and the hotel should not be rated four stars (the interior design does not look as good as the photos). I also had to pay up front, which I hate doing!

Reviewer:Andrew P | Sun 18th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago

Great hospitality- Rating 5/5

The hotel had a pleasant warm and welcoming feel to it the staff were helpful and polite upon arrival, the room was good value for the nights stop over we had a meal in the bar which was excellent a special thanks again to the staffwho's attention and hospitality were first class

Reviewer:Alan L | Sun 11th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago

Lovely place to catch up with friends and family - Rating 5/5

We had a really pleasant stay here. Nice room, nice meal,and handy for the station.The staff were very helpful, despite it being a very busy evening for them. The Swan is in the heart of the town, a perfect setting.We had intended staying in Bath, but we were all so glad we stayed at the Swan instead.

Reviewer:Nicky P | Sun 27th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago

overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay - clean, well-equipped rooms, nice breakfast, good pub and helpful, friendly staff.

Reviewer:Ms. Susan F | Wed 23rd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago

Stay at Swan Hotel October 2016 - Rating 4/5

Been many times.Very comfortable and friendly.Will return next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith R | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago

Great hotel - Rating 4/5

A great little hotel with nice clean rooms, great staff and a cellar bar with live music. Absolutely perfect.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben L | Sun 23rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago

Great base for Kennet & Avon Canal - Rating 5/5

I chose The Swan for a 3-night stay as a base for 2 days' cycling along the Kennet &Avon Canal. Poor start - no parking place available &the lad who checked me in seemed in a hurry! However I was very pleased with my room (room 6) which was very comfortable - lovely double bed, great tv, very nice shower, plenty of wardrobe space, well lit, and lots of little extras - 2 bottles of water, delicious biscuits, extra toiletries etc. - that make all the difference. I found all the staff very pleasant, friendly and obliging, especially Olivia. I was phoned at 10.30pm to let me know a parking place had been vacated by staff;one male employee escorted me to the back entrance to show me exactly where the newsagents' was - little defining moments, very important! The £100pn price was about right - not a rip-off and not a fantastic bargain! I would definitely stay here again. The canal towpath between Bath and Devizes (not beyond Devizes) is one of the finest cycle trails in GB and perhaps more of this could be made in your publicity. One slight criticism - the dinner menu was very strongly biased towards Thai cuisine. This will be a 'plus' for many people but my diet is very traditional. The soup on offer was mushroom three nights running (the chef kindly prepared potato/tomato soup for me on Wed!!)and there was no brownie on the last night. A completed evaluation form hadn't been collected from my room over the previous days and a 'fire exit' sign was missing on the ceiling above an emergency exit, but these are only minor points. Many thanks to you &your colleagues for a very enjoyable stay in Bradford-on-Avon. John

Reviewer:Mr. John G | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago

One night wonder! - Rating 4/5

Lovely Hotel, cannot fault it, stayed prior a 24 hour 3 Peak Challenge, whilst on top of one Peak, received text to say they had no hot water, so could cancel the planned stay on returning from the Peaks - which I did. Not easy finding an alternative on a Bank Holiday w/end.I was so looking forward to a lovely bath and a relaxing night.Shame.

Reviewer:Mr. Iain F | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 4 years ago

adequate for my journey - Rating 4/5

Location near to rail station.Clean and cozy room.Good and warm service :)

Reviewer:Mr. Meik F | Mon 21st Mar 2016 | 4 years ago

Lovely short break! - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for good value, great location and friendly staff, this is the place to go! Lovely open fire in the bar area and very comfotable and spacious rooms.Just wish our stay had been longer so we could have tried the extensive Thai menu served!

Reviewer:Mrs. Esther D | Mon 7th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago

right in the centre of Bradford - Rating 3/5

I had wanted to stay at the Swan for many years as it is such an historic building and right in the centre of town. I booked online and got a cheap rate because it was a late booking. I was very pleased that we did, because although I was happy to pay £85, I would have been very disappointed if we had paid £135. Although there are some lovely bits, the decor of the whole hotel is tired and unappealing. Our room was fine, the bed very comfortable, and the facilities what we expected. However, it was very difficult to have a satisfying shower as there was very little pressure on the hot water. I also cleaned the mould off the shower head before I used it. There was a good choice for breakfast and we had no complaints with that. The manager was very professional and courteous.


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry we did not quite meet up to your expectations on some aspects of your stay, we have recently repainted all the rooms and our maintenance schedule is an ongoing programme with a building that is over 300 years old, having said that we certainly appreciate your comments on the room and will look into this in detail. Generally speaking we do not have problems with water pressure, particularly in the room you were in and I am very sorry about this, we would like to assure any readers of this review that it is not an issue we have had before or indeed since. Thank you once again for your review an we hope we can welcome you back again to enjoy the beautiful town of Bradford on Avon and all it has to offer

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan M | Tue 1st Mar 2016 | 4 years ago

7/11/2015 - Rating 3/5

Second stay with you, very friendly staff. Disappointed that original booking for 2 Deluxe rooms was not met, error at hotel so took edge off our visit this occasion.


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, yes we sincerely apologise about the mix up of not being able to give you one of the rooms you had booked, but glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. Andy W | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago

1st Anniversary Weekend - Rating 4/5

We decided to come back to the town where we first met. The Swan is in an ideal location in the centre of town.Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire M | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago

40th Birthday Celebrations - Rating 4/5

A friendly, hospitable hotel in a lovely setting. The ideal place for a weekend get-away with friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne W | Fri 3rd Jul 2015 | 5 years ago

Surprise family get together - Rating 5/5

I had never been to this hotel before but booked it as a surprise for my husbands birthday, with 4 other couples.All aspects of booking were easy online, and all questions answered excellently my the staff before I booked. On arrival, the hotel had everything ready for us, and were brilliant! Service and attention to details and keeping things secret, they were great! The rooms were large and airy and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.I cannot thank the hotel staff enough and would recommend this hotel for a weekend or night away in a lovely part of the English countryside.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jayne W | Thu 2nd Jul 2015 | 5 years ago

very relaxed - Rating 5/5

found the hotel to have lovely character.The room was very clean &comfortable.All the staff were very friendly &helpful.We enjoyed our stay &would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. david s | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 5 years ago

The Swan Hotel - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel in a beautiful location.Clean and comfortable the hotel retains historic charms.The staff are polite and welcoming - I would thoroughly recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol R | Wed 6th May 2015 | 5 years ago

Great Location! - Rating 4/5

Interesting mix of high quality rooms and 'public bar' type eating! Food was good at dinner and breakfast but environment a bit 'functional'. Definitely the best place to stay to take in the sights of the town. They even turn the church clock of at night..relief!!

Reviewer:Mr. John W | Thu 9th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago

Swan around - Rating 5/5

Lovely family run inn.Guest rooms are large and very well presented....and the bed was huge!Good food, drinks, atmosphere and always something interesting on in the evening.Within a few minutes walk to the train station, which is only 15 mins from Bath.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul N | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago

Week end stay - Rating 4/5

Warm and friendly welcome. Nice room clean and tidy. Good staff when we had dinner, food good. Breakfast good as well as staff. Would be happy to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. MARTIN S | Sun 22nd Mar 2015 | 5 years ago

Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome, helpful staff and a lovely old hotel. Great for short break but room was a bit tired looking, no soap for hand basin and no toilet roll. Just little things that need checking but overall a great spot to explore Bath from, relaxing.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy W | Sun 1st Mar 2015 | 5 years ago

Quaint Old Hotel with Warm Welcome - Rating 4/5

We stayed overnight at the Swan whilst visiting friends.The staff were very welcoming and the room comfortable with a very large four poster bed. Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked with tasty items of our choice.We enjoyed our stay although it was brief.


Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill C | Sat 3rd Jan 2015 | 5 years ago

Most Enjoyable Stay - Rating 4/5

We were visiting Bradford on Avon to attend a concert at the Music Centre. Found the Swan by Google and booked for 2 nights Dinner B&B.Our most lasting impression will be of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.The room was comfortable and of a good size.Food quality was good both at dinner and breakfast. There is a very extensive menu for the former.Would certainly recommend and stay again.


Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mr. David F | Tue 16th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago

Swan Hotel - Rating 4/5

Good location in the centre of Bradford. Room reasonable although lack of hot water was disappointing although compensation provided.


Thank you for your feedback, once again we apologise for the problems with the hot water which has now been corrected and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future

Reviewer:Mr. Phil G | Fri 5th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago

Family trip - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I loved our stay at the Swan!It was like being in someones home.Clean, warm and friendly.The food was good and the service was great.Hopefully we will be back!


Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne G | Sat 22nd Nov 2014 | 5 years ago

super pub with rooms - Rating 4/5

very welcoming staff, good size rooms, nice food and super breakfast. Also serves excellent beer in formt of log fire. Perfect for a country weekend and 5 minutes form train to bath.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia R | Mon 17th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago

Stay - Rating 3/5

Rooms very comfortable and clean. Food nice but some confusion with the type of crumble!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah R | Fri 4th Jul 2014 | 6 years ago

pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

we were upgraded to a lovely room with a four poster bed and enjoyed our stay, friendly staff and good location.

Reviewer:Helen S | Sun 25th May 2014 | 6 years ago

good place! - Rating 4/5

Convoluted building - many stairs. Initial impression - corridors and general areas are dirty. BUT rooms are not,good cleanliness and very comfy beds. Meals are cleanly presented by very friendly staff. Warmed to the place after one day and thoroughly enjoyed being invited to sit in when Folk Club had their musical evening. Overall - a good place.

Reviewer:Elaine B | Wed 14th May 2014 | 6 years ago

Anniversary Celebration - Rating 5/5

Very impressed with our two nights stay, friendly welcome, excellent room, lovely bedding and very clean. (nice to have make tea in a teapot not in cups)Breakfast and evening meals most enjoyable and attentive staff. Would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary F | Wed 23rd Apr 2014 | 6 years ago

Another lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed several times at The Swan over the last year whilst visiting our son in Bath. It is a lovely hotel, old and quirky and so much better than the boring corporate hotels one becomes accustomed to. The staff are excellent and I would particularly like to mention the waitress at breakfast yesterday morning who was outstanding and very attentive. Breakfast is served to order and extremely good too.Thank you and we shall be returning again soon.Sharon

Reviewer:Mrs. SharonC | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 6 years ago

Anniversary Jaunt - Rating 4/5

From checking in to checking out, on our one night stay, all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel ideally located in the town. Food was excellent. Good atmosphere in the bar areas. Great room!

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian T | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 6 years ago

Mr - Rating 4/5

Everything was fine - we've been before and will certainly visit again

Reviewer:Keith R | Wed 9th Apr 2014 | 6 years ago

swan hotel - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fantastic stay. Room was excellent for the price asked. Very friendly atmosphere, food was fantastic an will 100% be coming again!

Reviewer:Rose C | Sun 6th Apr 2014 | 6 years ago

Very Good

113 reviews